//
you're reading...
Habits, Idiocy

It’s not stalking….


If there is one thing that seems to be a daily-I mean, “recurring” thing with me, it is that I get bored easily. I mean very easily. I am essentially child. I think that I am cuter than I actually am; I have too much time to myself to let my “imagination” run free; I let my “imagination” run free; I loaf around so much that I have to change where I am sitting periodically to give off the impression of productivity and when I get irritated, I get loud. I could sit here and blame it on ADD, but it isn’t as if I have ADHD…

…..

I am very easy to bore to and when I get bored and *happen to be* on the internet, I go on to the sites I frequent, look up people’s personal profiles and read the *kind of* private conversations they have with strangers, friends, their lovers…and I read and read and read on…the more personal their conversations are, the more I read before moving on to the next random profile. I take in their romance, sweet nothings, territory wars, family tragedies and when their personal lives cease to be compelling or interesting, I get bored and move on, forgetting what I had just read about 10 or 15 minutes later.

During this past semester, I had my first Creative Writing course, which I nearly failed because…I write slow…., and my instructor told my coursemates and I to essentially stalk people and invade their personal lives. Anything from listening in on the quarreling couple sitting a table away at the cafe to “borrowing” the love letter you find on the ground. She said that the best ideas you will have will come from other peoples’ behaviors and traumas and you perceive them. Exploiting their personal lives for your writing makes you a writer. She said that…more or less.

And I agree. The fact of the matter is, when your only source of inspiration is your own “imagination”-which sucks anyway (I mean yours, not mine)-and your family issues…you need more. Because we all know that when you base your stuff on what goes on at home, someone might take offense..on your ass. And it is always best to “borrow” other peoples’ issues-you know, the shit that they “can relate to”-because makes you look trendy and in tune with your current generation and totally not like that stalker who is listening in their conversation…

-LL

About austurias

Marxist, feminist, LGBT advocate, aspiring Literary writer, unhinged from reality as it may be and ecstatic adorer of Speculative Fiction.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “It’s not stalking….

  1. I don’t know that I quite agree with this. As a writer, it’s inescapable that you will insert some of yourself into anything you write. If you are unfamiliar with a concept or interpersonal dynamic, there’s nothing a little reading won’t solve. I write, and I write well, and I’ve never had to stalk anyone. lol

    Posted by harmony0stars | August 2, 2010, 11:41 AM
    • You can always start. 😉 You’d be surprised how many of the best ideas you will ever have will be sparked by other peoples’ problems and not books. Besides, you need to be careful how much you rely on other authors for inspiration. The only to be fiercely yourself is to be very well-rounded in the sources of your inspiration.

      On a side note, I thought you were going to be too busy to answer my post. 😮 This is a nice surprise. :]

      Lani

      Posted by austurias | August 2, 2010, 1:33 PM
  2. I’m not so busy I can write a short response. I actually meant nonfiction for research. I don’t think you need to stalk people to get ideas for problems. In fact the closer a problem is to your heart, the better you will draw others in. Anything can be changed to make it less like your own experiences, and watching television or reading anything can give you ideas on how to twist something that’s familiar into something that’s not. No stalking required. heh

    Posted by harmony0stars | August 2, 2010, 5:56 PM

Leave a Reply

